Welcome to the official website of Jefferson County New York

Child Protective Services

Child Protective Services
Child Protective Services is the only government entity that is required to investigate child abuse and maltreatment reports within families to protect children (under 18 years old) from further abuse or maltreatment and to provide rehabilitative services to children, parents, and other family members involved.

Reports of child abuse and maltreatment are called into the New York State Central Registry (SCR), also known as the Hotline and then the Hotline relays the information from the calls to the local Child Protective Services unit for investigation. The Hotline receives calls 24 hours a day, seven days a week; even on holidays.

After the local Child Protective Services unit receives the report from the Hotline, it initiates an investigation within 24 hours to assess the immediate safety of the child(ren) and then to examine the allegations of maltreatment in each report. The investigation of a report is a fact-finding process that includes interviewing, observing, and information gathering. The investigation includes an evaluation of all children in the home, whether or not they are actually named in the report. The purpose of the investigation is to initially protect the child(ren) and then to evaluate for any condition that increases the risk of future abuse. Child Protective Services also determines if any services are necessary to ensure the safety of the child(ren) or to reduce the degree of future risk to the child(ren). In cases where neglect or abuse exists, Child Protective Services provides or arranges for services to ensure the children’s safety and/or to decrease the risk of future abuse.

Child Protective Services works to preserve and stabilize family life whenever possible.

For more information, go to the NYS Child Protective Services Site:

Do You Suspect Child Abuse or Maltreatment?
The abuse or maltreatment of children is against the law. If you suspect that a child under the age of 18 is being abused, neglected, or maltreated, then: 

  • Call the Statewide Toll Free Telephone Number: 1-800-342-3720
  • If you are deaf or hard of hearing, call TDD/TTY at 1-800-638-5163 or have your Video Relay System provider call 1-800-342-3720
  • If you believe that a child is in immediate danger call 911 or your local police department.
  • For out of state records requests, fax to 1-315-779-5925