Welcome to the official website of Jefferson County New York

Records Division

  

All Pistol Permit Packets ready for submission may be turned in to the Records Department at the Sheriff's Office between the hours of 8:00 am and 2:00 pm. You will not pay your application fee or be fingerprinted at that time. You will be contacted to schedule an appointment for processing and payment at a later date.

 The fee of $136.75 will be collected at your appointment when the packet is COMPLETE to the Investigator’s satisfaction.

Fees accepted in CASH, CHECK, or POSTAL MONEY ORDER, payable to Sheriff of Jefferson County. Fees are non-refundable.

  

IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY, PLEASE CALL 911!

  

CLICK ON THE FOLLOWING LINKS TO DOWNLOAD AND PRINT THE PISTOL PERMIT PACKET

-- Do not print any pages "double-sided." Only packets that have been printed "single-sided" will be accepted --


FULL Pistol Permit Packet 

Individual Packet Forms

                                        Instructions Checklist                                                            Safety Instructor List 

                                        Packet Affidavit ONLY                                                           Warning Notice

                                        Family Court Consent                                                           Military Consent

                                        Office of Mental Health                                                         Reference Questionnaire


** NOTICES **

         - Beginning August 6, 2020 all submitted Pistol Permit applications MUST have the "new" application form

                        and reference sheets available above. NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE MADE!

         - If you have taken the Pistol Permit Safety Course and your certificate would have expired between

                        January 1, 2020 and May 31, 2020 your certificate will be accepted until October 1, 2020.

         - If your Safety Course certificate expired outside of those dates you will be required to take the Safety Course again.

         There is a $5.00 fee if a pre-printed packet is supplied by the Sheriff's Office.

    

Background Checks  are available on a walk-in basis for a fee of $10.00.  The person must be present and have a valid photo ID or a notarized release signed by the person being checked.  Only arrest records with convictions are available and may take several days to complete.

Report Copies  are available for $.25 per page.

Fingerprinting  services are available every Wednesday from 8:00am to 10:45am.  A valid photo ID is required and a $5.00 fee.

Pistol Permit Fees: 

  • $10 County fee for application
  • $21 Fingerprinting
  • $16 Photos
  • $89.75 Livescan fee for NYS Criminal Justice Bureau & FBI
  • $5 Transfer (in or out) of county
  • $3 Amendment to permit
  • Gun storage for 1 year - $10 for first gun $5 each additional gun

If you wish to co-register a pistol, please complete this form:  Coregistering Consent form


All amendment fees must be paid in cash. 


New York State’s new gun law (NY SAFE Act) allows pistol permit holders to request that their information be kept private and confidential by completing and submitting a State Police “Opt-Out” form, which can be found  HERE  . The form will also be posted on the State Police website as of February 15th at    www.troopers.ny.gov/optoutfoil    . 

*For information and forms regarding the Pistol Permit Recertification Process please visit    http://troopers.ny.gov/Firearms/    *