Welcome to the official website of Jefferson County New York

Advisory Council

The Council is a voluntary group of citizens who provide information, guidance, advice and support to the Jefferson County Office for the Aging to plan, develop, coordinate and administer services to older persons. The Council also serves as a critical linkage between the Office for the Aging and local elderly community.

The Council's most important obligation is to help the Office for the Aging carry out the intent and objective of the Older Americans Act (OAA). Congress passed the Older Americans Act in 1965 to address concerns by policymakers about a lack of community social services for older persons. The original legislation established authority for grants to States for services for seniors 60 and older. The Council fulfills this obligation by working through the Jefferson County Office for the Aging Board of Directors, the office staff, its own committees, and community leadership.

Advisory Council Members

  • Holly Armstrong (President)
  • Peter Fazio
  • Sister Mary Louise Fiedler
  • Ora Hawkins
  • Nina Hershey (Vice President)
  • Wanda Phelps
  • Betty Reff
  • Barbara Webber
  • Diana Woodhouse
  • Robert Cantwell
  • Kathy Connor
  • Sheila Barney-Pullus

Meeting Dates for 2019:

Every second Tuesday of the month at 9:30 a.m.

September 10th, 2019

December 10th, 2019