Welcome to the official website of Jefferson County New York

Early Voting 2019

Starting with the 2019 general election, all registered voters can vote in person before election day. Early voting will held at the County Office Building, 175 Arsenal St., Watertown, N.Y. 13601. The site is accessible to voters with physical disabilities.

Early voting will be held during the following times on the following dates:

9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26
9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 27
9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, Oct. 28
Noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 29
Noon to 8 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 30
9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 31
9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday, Nov. 1
9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2
9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 3

Early voting is the same as voting on Election Day. When you get to the early voting center, you will check in to vote, receive your ballot and vote as any other election. There will also be a notice to voter and bill of rights.  You may ask an election inspector to explain how to vote, or if you need any assistance.

If you vote during the early voting period, you are not eligible to vote on Election Day.

Votes cast before election day during the early voting period will be canvassed and reported after 9 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Can I still vote by absentee ballot? 

Yes, If you are out of your home county, or if you live in New York City, are outside of the five boroughs, or if you are permanently or temporarily disabled, ill or are the primary care giver for one or more people who are ill or physically disabled, or a resident of a Veterans Hospital, or detained in jail awaiting Grand Jury action or incarcerated for an offense other than a felony you may apply for an absentee ballot.

If you have any questions about early voting, please call (315) 785-3027.