Welcome to the official website of Jefferson County New York

Early Voting, 2022

All registered voters who are eligible can vote in person before election day. Early voting will held at the County Office Building, 175 Arsenal St., Watertown, N.Y. 13601 AND at the Adams Municipal Building, 3 So. Main St., Adams, NY 13605. Both sites are accessible to voters with physical disabilities.

PARKING: Available in the county lot behind the building (off Sherman St.). If during the week, please tell the gatekeeper you are here to vote and park in the spaces for visitors.

Early voting will be held at both sites on the following dates and times:

  • Saturday, June 18 / Saturday, Oct. 29: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 19 / Sunday, Oct. 30: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Monday, June 20 / Monday, Oct. 31: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 21 / Tuesday, Nov. 1: Polls open noon to 8 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 22 / Wednesday, Nov. 2: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 23 / Thursday, Nov. 3: Polls open noon to 8 p.m.
  • Friday, June 24 / Friday, Nov. 4: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 25 / Saturday, Nov. 5: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 26 / Sunday, Nov. 6: Polls open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Early voting is the same as voting on Election Day. When you get to the early voting center, you will check in to vote, receive your ballot and vote as any other election. There will also be a notice to voter and bill of rights.  You may ask an election inspector to explain how to vote, or if you need any assistance. 

If you vote during the early voting period, you are not eligible to vote on Election Day.

Votes cast before election day during the early voting period will be canvassed and reported after 9 p.m. on Tuesday, June 28 (primary election) and after 9 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 8 (general election).

Can I still vote by absentee ballot?  

Yes, If you are out of your home county, or if you live in New York City, are outside of the five boroughs, or if you are permanently or temporarily disabled, ill or are the primary care giver for one or more people who are ill or physically disabled, or a resident of a Veterans Hospital, or detained in jail awaiting Grand Jury action or incarcerated for an offense other than a felony you may apply for an absentee ballot.

If you have any questions about early voting, please call (315) 785-3027.